Tour An Open-Concept Bungalow Flooded With Natural Light


Designer Barb Purdy took her long-time friend and client’s “ugly, awful, small bungalow” and transformed it into an open-concept home with a modern, airy aesthetic. The open porch is the showstopper, with windows lining the space and two skylights spreading natural light everywhere. Phantom Screens installed their motorized retractable screens, giving the homeowners freedom to use this room year-round. Barb opened the main level, creating flow between the kitchen and the living room with exposed brick walls, kitchen island and neutral tones that carry throughout. On the lower level, the laundry “room” will wow you with its accessibility and easy-to-conceal feature.

Presented by Phantom Screens.
https://www.phantomscreens.com/

Designer: http://barbarapurdydesign.com/

WHERE TO BUY

Architecture by Abbott Design, (416) 944- 2898 or abbotdesign.ca; design by Barbara Purdy, Barbara Purdy Design, (416) 784-3400 or barbarapurdydesign.com; contracting, Burnsthrew Carpentry, (613) 813-2950; exterior siding, interior trim work, Brian McNulty Finish Carpentry, (613) 328-4577 or finish- carpentry.ca; plumbing, Madison Plumbing, (613) 243-8374 or plumbingdoneright.ca; electrical, GreenWire Electric, (613) 561-2250; excavation, Madison Excavating and Landscaping, (613) 849-9106, (613) 967-9106 or madisonexcavating.com; landscaping, Wentworth Landscapes, (613) 476-1181 or wentworthlandscapes.com; windows and doors, ViewTech Window & Doors, (613) 962-2511 or viewtechbelleville.com; exterior glass railings, Trenton Glass & Windows, (613) 394-3597 or trentonglass.net; tile installation, A&E Tile and Stone, (613) 966-2767 or aeceramictile.com; bathroom countertop installation, Blackbird Stone & Tile, (613) 965- 1800 or blackbirdstoneandtile.com; heating and cooling, Quinte Air Supply, (613) 554-9970 or quinteairsupply.com; painting, Ace Painting & Decorating, (613) 967-0514 or trustedpros.ca/ company/ace-painting-and-decorating; wall color, Oxford White (CC-30), Benjamin Moore, 1-800-361-5898 or benjaminmoore.ca. Kitchen and dining room: Flooring, Northern Wide Plank Flooring, 1-877-763-6169 or northernwideplank.ca; rug, Rug & Weave, (519) 546-8720 or rugandweave.ca; planter (on floor, left of painting), Lockyer’s Country Gardens, (613) 476-5757 or lockyers.com; art by Lynne Fernie, Oeno Gallery, oenogallery.com. Dining room: Custom table, Timberware, timberware.ca; chandelier, Muskoka Living, (705) 765-6840 or muskokaliving.ca; dining chairs, rug, LD Shoppe, ldshoppe.com; bifold doors, Sierra Windows and Doors, (416) 779-5646 or sierrawindows.ca; fireplace mantel, Trumeau Stones, (416) 760- 7700 or trumeaustones.com; palm plant (on table), The Parlour Studio, (613) 846-0246 or theparlour.studio. Entry: Bench, Peaks & Rafters, (647) 350-3500, (705) 765-6868 or peaksandrafters.com; light fixture, table lamp, Muskoka Living, (705) 765- 6840 or muskokaliving.ca; throw pillows, Ikea, 1-866-866-IKEA or ikea.ca; baskets (under console), Rug & Weave, (519) 546-8720 or rugandweave.ca; mirror, Cocoon Furnishings, (905) 829-2780 or cocoonfurnishings.ca; rug, Y&Co., (416) 968-7700, (514) 287-8998 or ycocarpet.com. Kitchen overall: Cabinets, Brian Kuipers Carpentry, (613) 827-4201 or briankuiperscarpentry.com; backsplash, A&E Tile and Stone, (613) 966-2767 or aeceramictile. com; countertops, SCF Countertops, 1-866-293- 5170 or scfcountertops.ca; pendants, sconces, Elte, (416) 785-7885 or elte.com; sink, Kohler, kohler.ca; faucet by Riobel, Ensuite Belleville, (613) 968-3461 or emco.ca/stores/plumbing- plus-belleville; stools, West Elm, 1-855-860- 1082 or westelm.ca; black and white dishware (in upper cabinets), striped pitcher (on back countertop), vases, Saudade, (647) 352-1191 or saudadetoronto.com; island color, Narragansett Green (HC-157), cabinet color, Chantilly Lace (OC-65), Benjamin Moore, 1-800- 361-5898 or benjaminmoore.ca; refrigerator by KitchenAid, The Home Depot, 1-800-628-0525 or homedepot.ca; range, vent hood, Thermador, thermador.com; microwave, Sharp, sharp.ca. Screened room: Furniture by Kingsley Bate, Hauser Company Stores, hauserstores.com; screens, Phantom Screens, 1-888-742-6866 or phantomscreens.com; rug, LD Shoppe, ldshoppe.com; Azek decking, Home Hardware/ Home Building Centres, homehardware.ca; throw pillow, HomeSense, 1-800-646-9466 or homesense.ca. Living room overall: Sofas, James Reid Furniture, jamesreidfurniture. net; side chairs, coffee table, Muskoka Living, (705) 765-6840 or muskokaliving.ca.

See the rest of the sources here: https://houseandhome.com/video/tour-open-concept-bungalow-flooded-natural-light/

MORE DESIGN INSPIRATION
• Subscribe to H&H’s YouTube Channel https://goo.gl/IZae51
• Beautiful photo galleries https://houseandhome.com/galleries/

———-

CONNECT WITH HOUSE & HOME!
• Facebook https://facebook.com/houseandhomemagazine/
• Instagram https://instagram.com/houseandhomemag/
• Pinterest https://pinterest.com/houseandhome/
• Twitter https://twitter.com/HouseandHome

Can A Shed Or Workshop Be The Ideal Place For Working At Home?

Typically a less costly option than transforming a room into a study, a wooden shed or workshop can be the dreamland for working at house. Away from the stress of your house, doing your operate in an outdoors workplace can be the most productive alternative.

Introducing The Modern Home Office

A modern-day office is not suggested to be overly elaborate. Rather, it needs to just have minimal furnishings and also be devoid of clutter. Remarkably, steel doors and windows are also commonly being utilized for this space of the home as well as assistance to provide it a straightforward yet elegant appeal.

Tips To Live A Happy Married Life

When 2 people get married they guarantee to live and also pass away with each other. They promise to be all set to help the other in requirement. And to maintain up those pledges for the entire life time is not a simple job.

Types Of Kitchen Plans You’re Able To Choose

Whether you wish to remodel or develop a brand-new house, there are several type of strategies you can pick from. Most most likely one of the most skilled design might be the U-shaped kitchen area that has three separate walls. It’s very magnificently shaped for kitchen area counter and safe-keeping and also not well suited for enjoyable guests or having several chefs. You might discover yourself utilizing a great deals of congested zones inside the kitchen area. You primarily need to have an area that is 8 feet by eight feet, or you will not have four feet of room throughout the room, that’s recommended. In instance your kitchen is large sufficient, a freestanding island initial workstation, is one of the most effective.

Tips For Becoming An Architect

Design is an art as well as a science that entails numerous skills and abilities. A fascinating study by a leading maker of construction playthings in 2009 revealed a surprising details: Building designers were the specialists that were more than likely to be affected at a very early stage through their favored playthings – construction collections. Learn extra.

You May Also Like